ZFA congratulates Prime Minister Scott Morrison

Official Statements

The Zionist Federation of Australia (ZFA) has offered its congratulations to Prime Minister Scott Morrison and the Coalition for their re-election following Australia’s Federal Election.

President of the ZFA Jeremy Leibler said “On behalf of the Australian Jewish community, we congratulate Prime Minister Scott Morrison and the re-elected Coalition Government. We look forward to continuing our support of the important work of this Government and furthering the already warm and enduring friendship it shares with the Jewish community and the State of Israel.”

“The Morrison Government not only showed moral leadership in recognising West Jerusalem as Israel’s capital and opening a trade office there, but it was also fearless in standing up for Israel on the world stage and calling out bias at the UN. In fact, Australia was the only country on the UN Human Rights Council this year to oppose all anti-Israel resolutions.”

“We also pass on our best wishes to Bill Shorten and thank him for his six-year leadership of the Australian Labor Party. Mr Shorten is a strong friend of the Australian Jewish community and we acknowledge his long-standing commitment and support for the Australia-Israel alliance”.

“The ZFA would also like to wish a special Mazal Tov to Josh Burns who will succeed Michael Danby as the new Member for Macnamara and former Australian Ambassador to Israel, Dave Sharma as the new Member for Wentworth. The Jewish community also offers its best wishes and thanks to Dr Kerryn Phelps, the first Jewish Australian woman to be elected to Parliament, for her service and leadership.”

For media enquiries please contact:

Jeremy Leibler, President – +61 417 382 387, jleibler@abl.com.au
Ariel Zohar, Media and Advocacy Director – +61 425 872 296,

Share this post

Program Partners

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Organisational Partners

Subscribe for the latest news and events